More adventures in Faire-y Fairs, the F3 Oakland Event!

So I said that I would write something before my next fair, who knew it would take so little time?!!  A friend of mine lives in a very cool building that is nothing but live/work lofts, and apparently has events periodically.  This particular event happens every three months and on the 3rd Friday of whatever the month, hence the title F3.  My friend has only lived in the building a few months and hadn’t been to an event, so she didn’t know much and I had zero expectations.

My plan WAS to bring jewelry, stationery and a few knits to sell out of her loft space, somewhere.  I didn’t actually remember to put the stationery IN the car, so it stayed at home, not selling.  Great work, Lisa!  But I digress.  I got to her place right before the event started, at 6pm.  It was 6-10pm, and at the very least, I was hanging out SANS chitlins and drinking with my friends.  They had me at “hello”, so to speak.  I took a table from her, and got to work setting up.  Mainly pinning my jewelry onto foam core boards that I had spray painted with black chalkboard paint, and planned to write on with these super sweet liquid chalk pens that I found at Michael’s.  I think it turned out alright, but I think I need to fine tune my presentations a bit more.  I’m always looking to improve…

Lexi had baked up a lot of goodies that were to draw folks in, which worked like gangbusters.  Right out of the gate a lovely woman sauntered in and started chatting with us and tried on a few things of mine.  She walked out with the most complicated 7 strand necklace I had made, so I felt great about the night starting so well!  And when I say she walked out, she paid me and literally wore it out the door.  Felt good.  😉  Lexi had these AWESOME, and I mean AWESOME stuffed animal narwhals that everyone loved.  She also had these great totes with a lumberjack silhouette applique on them, and some sweet dino hoodies and repurposed ceramic cake stands.

Throughout the 4 hour stint we had a lot of folks come and go, and some even came through a few times.  I think the baked goods were part of that… but hey, traffic is traffic, amirite?!  At the very end of the night there WAS this shorter latin man that latched onto my very gorgeous and tall friend Lacey, and things got weird because he kept missing the obvious social queues to leave.  It wasn’t stalkerish or anything, but more comical because he had clearly had his fair share of wine that night.

Anyhow, we had a great time and I cannot wait to attend the next F3Oakland event!!  If you’d like info on what the event is, and how to get there click here to go to the f3oakland website.  Enjoy the photos below of our adventures!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “More adventures in Faire-y Fairs, the F3 Oakland Event!

  1. Pingback: Open Studios Event @ F3! | For funsies

  2. Pingback: f3Oakland’s “Art & Taxes” event recap! | For funsies

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

